Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

LCHF: A Week of Meal Ideas

lchf pyramidPyramid source and more information can be found here.

LCHF = Low carb, high fat. I love this website as a resource. I’ve gone LCHF before, and have always had great success with it as far as just feeling better, losing weight, and not craving sweets. I’ve recently come to the realization that this is truly how I should be eating most of the time. As a carb-o-holic, even a small amount of any type of carbohydrate (fruit, veg, grain, dessert) can turn me into a carb junky, and I cannot stop myself from overeating. When I do LCHF, I really try to focus on eating lots of vegetables, some protein, and a good amount of fat. I am not hungry between meals, and I have ZERO cravings for junk food. I honestly feel free eating this way. I don’t have to count calories or use an excessive amount of will power. I feel satisfied after meals, but not disgustingly full.

See bottom of post for recipes.

Breakfasts

My usual is eggs, veggies, maybe bacon, and avocado. Sometimes, I switch it up, or I’m just out of eggs. Some of this is pretty repetitive, as you’ll see.  At the beginning of the week, I usually bake an entire package of bacon and freeze it to use throughout the week. You can find out how to do that here.  My breakfasts are pretty filling, so I don’t really need to snack between breakfast and lunch.  Here’s what I had for breakfast this week…

 

Breakfast Sushi! Smoked salmon, avocado, and egg wrapped up in some seaweed. To dip or not to dip in soy sauce is up to you.

Breakfast Sushi! Smoked salmon, avocado, and egg wrapped up in some seaweed. To dip or not to dip in soy sauce is up to you.

 

Boiled eggs with leftover pumpkin seed pesto, bacon, and leftover sauteed asparagus.

Boiled eggs with leftover pumpkin seed pesto, bacon, and leftover sauteed asparagus.

 

What's missing from this picture are pumpkin seeds and a string cheese that I had first. Ran out of eggs!

Sauteed zucchini and some bacon. What’s missing from this picture are pumpkin seeds and a string cheese that I had first. Ran out of eggs!

 

Boiled eggs, bacon, avo, leftover blanched asparagus, and leftover balsamic mushrooms.

Boiled eggs, bacon, avo, leftover blanched asparagus, and leftover balsamic mushrooms.

 

Over easy eggs, bacon, and sauteed spinach with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

Over easy eggs, bacon, and sauteed spinach with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

 

Lunches

Most days this week, half of each plate was a big green salad with lots of veggies, some amazing sheep’s feta, and olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The other half varied.

Big salad and salmon salad on the side.

Big salad and salmon salad on the side.

 

Big salad, deli roast beef, Dubliner cheese, and leftover horseradish cream sauce to dip my roast beef/cheese roll-ups in.

Big salad, deli roast beef, Dubliner cheese, and leftover horseradish cream sauce to dip my roast beef/cheese roll-ups in.

 

Cheese crisps! Just grated cheese baked in the oven to make crackers. I had these with my lunches a few days.

Cheese crisps! Just grated cheese baked in the oven to make crackers. I had these with my lunches a few days.

 

Leftover chicken breast with salsa, cheese and sour cream on top, steamed broccoli with butter, and baby carrots.

Leftover chicken breast with salsa, cheese and sour cream on top, steamed broccoli with butter, and baby carrots.

 

Leftover loaded cauliflower, roast beef with Dubliner cheese and Dijon mustard, spinach with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Leftover loaded cauliflower, roast beef with Dubliner cheese and Dijon mustard, spinach with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

 

Roast beef with dubliner cheese (obviously loving this combo), sauteed spinach, and steamed broccoli with butter.

Roast beef with dubliner cheese (obviously loving this combo), sauteed spinach, and steamed broccoli with butter.

 

Dinners

I try to only cook three times a week, and make enough to have leftovers for those nights in between. We also try and eat out just once a week.

Chicken breasts with homemade pumpkin seed pesto, loaded cauliflower (think loaded baked potato), and asparagus sauteed in butter.

Chicken breasts with homemade pumpkin seed pesto, loaded cauliflower (think loaded baked potato), and asparagus sauteed in butter.

 

I only had a tiny amount of chicken breasts left, so I diced it and stir-fried it with a bunch of veggies. Leftover loaded cauliflower on the side.

I only had a tiny amount of chicken breasts left, so I diced it and stir-fried it with a bunch of veggies. Leftover loaded cauliflower on the side.

 

Balsamic skirt steak roll-ups, cauliflower with sunflower and pumpkin seeds, and balsamic mushrooms. Extra carrots and asparagus on the side.

Balsamic skirt steak roll-ups, cauliflower with sunflower and pumpkin seeds, and balsamic mushrooms. Extra carrots and asparagus on the side.

 

Antipasti salad. Greens and chopped parsley tossed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper. On top: salami, soppresatta, mozzarella, roasted red peppers, black olives, grilled artichoke hearts in vinaigrette, sundried tomatoes, and pepperoncini.

Antipasti salad. Greens and chopped parsley tossed with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper. On top: salami, soppresatta, mozzarella, roasted red peppers, black olives, grilled artichoke hearts in vinaigrette, sundried tomatoes, and pepperoncini.

 

Our night out! We went to Bernie's Burger Bus, and I got a grassfed burger in a bowl. There are some greens, cucumbers, roasted garlic tomatoes, monterey jack cheese, bacon, and ranch dressing on the side. Not too shabby. I could totally do this at home, though.

Our night out! We went to Bernie’s Burger Bus, and I got a grassfed burger in a bowl. There are some greens, cucumbers, roasted garlic tomatoes, monterey jack cheese, bacon, and ranch dressing on the side. Not too shabby. I could totally do this at home, though.

Recipes:

  • Pumpkin Seed Pesto (I subbed pumpkin seeds for the pine nuts. Also, I used Parmigiano Reggiano instead of Picarino cheese. I added a couple of splashes of lemon juice at the end to brighten it all up.)
  • Salmon Salad
    • 2 cans of Wild Alaskan sockeye salmon, flaked
    • 1-2 T. Dijon mustard
    • 1-2 T. Mayo
    • 1/2 cup of chopped celery (I used the inner hearts with leaves.)
    • 2 T. dill pickle relish
    • 1/4 cup diced red onions
  • Horseradish Cream Sauce (I used Bubbie’s prepared horseradish instead of fresh.)
  • Cheese Crisps (I made two batches – parmesan and Kerrygold cheddar.)
  • Loaded Cauliflower
    • Steam cauliflower florets and dry them off
    • Toss them in a bit of melted butter, and put them in a casserole dish.
    • Top with crispy chopped bacon, diced green onions, and grated cheese of your choice.
    • Bake until all melty (could be broiled or just baked at 400).
    • Top with sour cream.
  • Balsamic Steak Roll-ups (I used skirt steak instead of flank steak. It’s pretty tough, so I’d marinate it longer than 2 hours, and I tenderized the heck out of it – good way to work out stress.)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

