Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

MyPaleo30

I was looking into doing the Whole30 after finishing my 7-day detox yesterday, but I’m, of course, going to modify it to fit my own needs, dietary restrictions, and preferences.  I honestly don’t care one bit about eating like a caveman. I’m really basing MyPaleo30 on how certain foods make me feel. That’s it. I’m going to eliminate some of the most common digestive disruptors (see the “no” list) for 30 days and see how I feel. I may choose to reintroduce some foods slowly (rice, lentils, beans) to see if I have a reaction. I already know that wheat and corn bother me, so I don’t even need to try those again. This is pretty close to Paleo, and not as restrictive as Whole 30. Hence, MyPaleo30. See the 12-week workout plan at the bottom of this post.

I think the timing of this elimination diet couldn’t be better – right around the holidays – when I need the most help with watching what I eat and eating for health.

Here are the parameters of MyPaleo30 (my version of a 30-day, paleo-ish elimination diet). I’m no expert, doctor, or nutritionist. So, don’t follow this! This is just an account of how I’m going about choosing an eating plan that is right for me. Read this.

yesnofoodlist

I already gave up coffee before the 7-day detox, so I won’t be drinking that at all. It definitely contributes to my ongoing battle with acid reflux. Also, I haven’t been able to drink alcohol in any form for the past 5 or so years, so I won’t be drinking that either.

I will continue drinking green juice every morning, and vegetables will be the first consideration for every meal.

My favorite cookbooks for Paleo recipes:

01cf4cfe9301074ac03623dc1824949a8c9cb8c306

This is my absolute favorite paleo cookbook. Some wonderful recipes for classic favorites – fried chicken, mashed cauliflower (instead of potatoes), gravy, coleslaw, morning glory muffins, etc…

 

0196e07ecf47d419cf9769c1a8c7feb2f2907bfa00

This cookbook is a great resource for those first starting paleo. And, it’s very family-friendly. Lots of delicious recipes and beautiful photos!

 

01c2becb5ad2b3caadbac247a63f0f506e2d986a1c

Wonderful and delicious recipes. What I love about this cookbook the most, is the modifications for different diets (nut-free, egg-free, low FODMAP, AIP, SCD/GAPS, and lower carb). That’s great for our family since I don’t eat nuts for digestive reasons, and my daughter is allergic to eggs.

 

01a836abd226c68f41e2f7acf6f6505297d926b675

Great if you have kids, or have a hankering for “kid food.”

 

016d0acc2e9a16a1ae5feaf18b0a3854d4c29cb503

All about coconut flour. Lots of great baked goods, which I will make for special occasions only – Thanksgiving, Christmas, birthdays. This book is a great resource!

 

0100d4f61a7297b657f62a9da725a3681bcf5103a9

This cookbook is really for the paleo foodie. Lots of delicious recipes, but some of the ingredients might be hard to find. I don’t really use this for everyday weeknight cooking, but for special occasions. Many of the recipes are quite involved.

My Meal Plan for Week 1:

Sunday + Monday Tuesday + Wednesday Thursday + Friday
Breakfast Green juice, 2 eggs (boiled or over easy), avocado slices, sautéed veggies, fruit
Lunch Big green salad with pumpkin seeds, berries, and Dijon vinaigrette + turkey/avo rollups
Dinners Chili – as it should be! From Paleo Comfort Foods + baked red potatoes + side salad Turkey and veggie stuffed peppers (zucchini, spinach, onion, garlic, carrots, peppers) + Roasted broccoli and asparagus with chimichurri (Paleo Comfort Foods) Ground pork and veggie stir-fry + butter lettuce (to make lettuce cups) + ginger sesame sweet potato spears
Snacks Apple with sunbutter OR pumpkin seeds and fruit

The Workouts!

I’m going to follow the 12-Week Booty-ful Beginnings workout from one of my favorite workout books, Strong Curves. This is an excellent book with full color detailed workout plans. This 12-week workout is one of many in the book.

011ea7e44bb063404b3fa3e2d220d9d57c9c6c8c2a

01efd9ce48f0e810020dbda9f3280916eece03dfe8

One comment on “MyPaleo30

  1. Pingback: MyPaleo30 Breakfast Ideas | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

