Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Day 7: Detox Success!

i-can-and-i-will-success-quotes-pics1

I’m feeling pretty good on my final day of the 7-day detox. I did it! I drastically changed my diet and daily routine, even if only for 1 week. Now, I’m planning out how I will proceed going forward.

So, what changed in 7 days? Well, no more indigestion or acid reflux, no crazy sugar and junk food cravings since day 2, my sleep improved by at least 1 -1.5 hours each night. If this many things can change in 7 days, just think what could happen in 1 month or 6 months! That’s why I want to definitely continue with many aspects of the detox – green juice at least once a day, affirmations and visualizations will become a regular part of my day, and I will have a vegetable-centric diet. I’m going to stay off of grains and dairy for the time being, as well. And, I love the steam room and the epsom salt baths.  One thing I’m looking forward to changing, however, is adding back in other sources of protein that are not plant-based.

I’m going to give the Whole 30 a try starting tomorrow. I’ll be doing it the entire month of November. Yes, even Thanksgiving. Why not? This is the best time of year to fix one’s diet. I’d love to hear any feedback about the Whole 30 if any of you have tried it!

ps – I didn’t create a log or post for day 6 (yesterday) because it was just so similar to day 5.

Day 7 Log

Woke up at 4:30 (not bad, for me), and did the 20 morning affirmations.

Green juice, of course. Chard, parsley, super greens, cucumber, celery, and a pear.

01a7a7aa0bce2d54cd1d2fe2c18dd890d37c2e467f

017586480c72dbb8defa8dadf651c3e18d5f59f2d9

Breakfast menu: Green apple with sunbutter and cranberries, side of grapes and avocado. Bone broth.

011d03b36fc0446e39b20904c67d05771c6294e610

Lunch menu: Another salad. Tons of fresh veg and fruit, and a dijon vinaigrette on top.

019ea0add9155e0f1634721d82e29f912cd21905c6

Did the day 7 visualization here, and dozed off with headphones on for at least 30 minutes.

Woke up, did my workout – cardio HIIT day – and made another green juice before dinner.

Dinner menu: Spaghetti squash with kale basil marinara, on a bed of sauteed super greens. Side of steamed broccoli.

01f3b9924ef3fb98d00b6f48060c4dd58ee060f3d6

I found this great marinara sauce at Whole Foods this morning…

01554719cb082744fe890d41cfb5a3927fb2d89174

Loved the ingredients! No added sugar and all organic. And, added kale! Tasted very good, as well.

016154f0254ac5806914cae953704e4f8ada57c812

Dessert was a banana-berry coconut smoothie. A nice treat.

0174cfa465647accb077d34c9651462b87ce83b9e7

After dinner, I ran to the gym to get my steam room sit in.

Ended the day with an epsom salt bath and visualizations and affirmations.

4 comments on “Day 7: Detox Success!

  1. cookiesnchem
    October 31, 2015

    To me, “detox” has a negative connotation, but here everything just looks like a nutritious lifestyle swap loaded with veggies. Keep up the amazing work 🙂

    • oneyeartotrainer
      October 31, 2015

      Thanks! I agree about the negative connotation. For me, it was certainly a detox because I really felt like an addict. A sugar and junk food addict. While battling with insomnia, I fell off the healthy food wagon hard. I was overeating foods that I would normally never even eat. Looking forward to continuing!

      • cookiesnchem
        October 31, 2015

        Congratulations! I am really proud of you for getting back onto the wagon. It’s crazy how eating sweets make you crave sweets even MORE. 😦 I like healthifying my favourite desserts like brownies and muffins by reducing the sugar and using things like mashed banana, pumpkin, healthy flours and coconut oil.

      • oneyeartotrainer
        October 31, 2015

        Sugar can really turn people into junkies. That’s what I felt like on Day 2, but pushed through somehow and came out the other side. I do not want to be in that position again. I love sweetening things with bananas, dates, and other fruits. So much better for you.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

