Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Detox Day 5: Creating Habits

fd9c2d5b0bd41d068b337229b7da21b9

Day 5 is coming to a close, and I can see the end of the detox tunnel. I’m starting to think about which aspects of the detox I want to become permanent habits. Green juice is at the top. I’m definitely going to start the day with green juice from now on. This will replace my coffee. Having a vegetable-centric diet is also really important to me. It’s no secret that vegetables are good for you and that we should all be eating more. I’ve really taken it to the next level this week, and truly feel like I’m treating my body well by feeding it so many colorful and varying veggies. I want to eat veggies at every meal.

Day 5 Log

Woke up and did affirmations.

Green juice

Banana-Berry Coconut Smoothie – still not sick of this after three days in a row. So good!

Bone broth

HIIT and weights workout + Steam Room

Snack: cantaloupe, green grapes, and pumpkin seeds

Lunch on-the-go at Whole Foods (pretty much the only place I can eat out these days). Big green salad with olive and vinegar drizzled on top. And, a few plantain chips (about 1/4 of that bag) for some crunch.

01effc09d43aaa37a0c03bc35be40328ab55982425

Day 5 visualization

20-minute rest

Snack: guacamole and more of those plantain chips

PM Green juice: had to switch my green juice to pre-dinner instead of pre-lunch since we were out and about for lunch. I juiced parsley, arugula, fennel, chard, celery, and a green apple.

Dinner menu: Root vegetable and bone broth soup with ginger and garlic, black lentils with leftover garlic green beans and pumpkin seeds.

015e177e3115e12d61164f179ddb3ba4e6b784ee9f

I tried something new with the lentils. I cooked them with a piece of kombu, which supposedly aids in digestion, as well as adds minerals and flavor to the lentils. I found this kombu at Whole Foods and the lentils at Central Market (HEB).

015ddb246a67b0445dc492b40277de5242d4c5eb96

Here are two great finds on my last Costco trip: this bag of frozen organic root veggies and the bottle of avocado oil. So, I sauteed about a 1/3 of the bag of veggies (sweet potato, orange carrots, yellow carrots, parsnips, and red onions) in the avocado oil, added 4 cups of my chicken bone broth, and grated a few cloves of garlic and a good chunk of ginger into the pot. I semi-blended the soup, so there are still some chunky pieces.

019f3a38d00889df64ddfeaabb320386de2b17a79e

I’ll end my long day with an epsom salt bath and some affirmations and visualizations.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

