Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Detox Day 1

the-beginning

Day 1 is finally here! I feel like I’ve been prepping for this detox for weeks. I have. I came up with my parameters and meal plan, made three batches of chicken bone broth (lost one of those batches when two large glass containers broke in the freezer – so sad!), baked and froze 7 sweet potatoes, researched and planned out the visualization/affirmation/meditation portion of the detox, made and froze two large casseroles (with all that chicken, of course!) for my husband and daughter to eat for dinners while I’m on this detox, and tested out different green juice recipes.

I really wanted to emulate going away to a spa to detox, minus all the massages, privacy and free time (unfortunately). I also felt it was really important to add an emotional/mental component to the detox, and not just focus on food.  Often, when I try new diets, I forget why I started and just end up quitting on a sour note. Adding emotional and mental exercises (affirmations, visualizations, and meditation) will, hopefully, help me to stay centered and focused on why I want to do this in the first place.

Finally, here’s a great podcast all about detoxing: To Detox or Not to Detox by Dr. Ruscio Radio

Here’s my routine for the next 7 days.

AM:
  • Wake up, read and repeat affirmations.
  • Green juice
  • Breakfast: baked sweet potato with coconut oil, cinnamon, pink Himalayan sea salt, sunflower seeds + bone broth (recipe I used – I cook for 24 hours)
  • Light cardio and strength work out: 30-45 minutes
  • Steam room for 15 minutes
Midday:
  • Green juice
  • Lunch (a lot of raw and cooked veggies, side of lentil salad) + bone broth
  • Visualization
  • Nap, if possible (15-30 minutes)
PM:
  • Dinner + bone broth
  • Epsom salt bath and guided meditation
  • In bed by 10
Things to remember throughout the day:
  • Chew, chew, chew! Be mindful while eating and chew all food very well.
  • Drink lots of water but not during a meal.
  • Breathe deeply. Do this before eating, after eating, whenever you think about it.
  • Snacks can be raw fruit, raw veggies, cooked veggies, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, or bone broth.
  • Other drinks: fresh ginger tea, root vegetable juice (on an empty stomach), hot water with lemon
  • Feel free to add any meditations, visualizations, or affirmations when needed throughout the day.
  • Take a walk outside at some point during the day, if possible.

Disclaimer – Read this! I made this detox up for myself, using foods that I tolerate well and pulling detox information from other sources. I don’t recommend this to anyone else. I do recommend creating your own detox – using foods that make you feel good and following practices that you find to be particularly “detoxifying.”

Day 1 Log

Slept pretty well, from about 10 – 5. Woke up and read my 20 morning zen affirmations. Did some stretches.

Made my delicious green juice! Super greens, celery, cucumber, basil, and a green apple.

01fd1a44f232430a765333dae21b3d0286b79cbb4f

01925dcf84a0e14e59ba9b3c92980f4385a49c9389

Defrosted a sweet potato and some bone broth, and had breakfast. This was so good. Very close to a pumpkin crunch dessert. I can do this for breakfast every day for sure!

019c5c178571feb19662e77953c7aebf583ea0e49a

Had a good leg/glute workout. Really enjoyed my 15 minutes in the steam room. Stopped by Whole Foods to get more greens for juice.

Yay – green juice time. This one included green romaine lettuce, parsley, basil, and a green apple.

0190ec514971d9ec58203463f952ca854c4a1db941

01d75f7632dfc92b115f4725508a7b0648897b568f

That juice was seriously delicious!

Now, time for lunch. I’d already prepped a beluga black lentil salad. The rest, I prepped right before lunch.

Lunch menu:

  • black beluga lentils with pumpkin seeds, parsley, sea salt, olive oil, and vinegar
  • saute of mushrooms and spinach – in olive oil with sea salt
  • steamed carrots, drizzled with olive oil
  • fruit salad of pears and strawberries
  • cup of chicken bone broth

018b8472c6fb6d79322ceca5ca030ee6a5774fe1b0

Very tasty! So far, I’m feeling pretty good. No real cravings for anything. I’m really enjoying all of these veggies.

After I put my daughter down for a nap, I got into bed, put on my headphones, and listened to the “Day 1 Root Detox – Community” visualization (about 9 minutes).

Took a short nap and woke up feeling pretty groggy. Even though I made the switch to decaf coffee a couple of weeks ago (after a long weaning process!), I feel like I may be having some caffeine withdrawals even from the decaf. That just makes me more sure that I won’t be going back to coffee at all – decaf or regular.

Instead of the small cup of decaf I might usually have after a nap, I drank hot lemon water.

01306585a3ba3f6034378eec998b68b3948f80b168

I’ve had a very light headache since my nap. Not too bad.

Had a small snack.

019ac10e1963ab5ec2268cddd524f7d073e1f2dc26

Dinner menu:

  • roasted acorn squash with cinnamon, coconut oil, and sea salt
  • brown rice and sprouted green lentil pilaf with onions, garlic, fennel, cinnamon, cumin, coconut oil, and Himalayan sea salt
  • strips of raw orange pepper
  • fresh raspberries

011dceb5be847222deda9f19c7463cbae6eabd2702

Took an epsom salt bath and did some affirmations and visualizations that I had recorded using the voice memo function on my phone. I took some visualizations from a book I just found on amazon: “Healing Visualizations: Creating Health Through Imagery” by Gerald Epstein. I also recorded a few affirmations (leaving silence after each one for me to repeat them back) from this website: self-help-and-self-development.com

01bc25303778e3380c07a0e98f9108f60f14e91c9e

011531c1849346fb8e07a3cc1aaf95146fa05cefc3

Day 1 is done. I’m pretty happy with how today went. I don’t have any indigestion or stomach upset, which I normally do have at the end of the day. I still feel a bit groggy and have a light headache. I assume that will go away after a few days. I’m ready to go forward with the detox.

2 comments on “Detox Day 1

  1. Pingback: Detox Day 2: Combating Cravings | One Year To Trainer

  2. Pingback: Detox Day 3: Going Strong! | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2015 by and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

