Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Detox Fail: Day 1 and Done!

3-IMG_7283

Hate to be admitting this, but I could only do one day on this detox plan.  I couldn’t stomach the shake. OMG. It was terrible!  I’ve never been a fan of artificial sweeteners, and this shake has too much stevia in it.  While stevia does not seem to be as bad for you as aspartame or other types of artificial sweeteners, it still has that awful aftertaste. Why did they have to sweeten this powder at all? I would’ve rather had no flavor at all and just used frozen berries to flavor it. I somehow managed to down the breakfast shake, but could only do half of the lunch shake.  It was honestly making me gag.  I still followed the other dietary restrictions and recommendations, but I just can’t get past the taste of the shake.  I should also mention that I had a throbbing headache all day long.  It was probably from the caffeine withdrawals, but I pretty much felt terrible the whole day. Some may say this is die-off or part of the detox process, but whatever. I’m not into it.

So, time to devise a new plan for the next two weeks (and try and return the cleanse stuff!) because I still want to clean up my diet. I think going a bit strict for two weeks will be good for me, but I can’t do the shake thing.

Here’s the new plan:

  • no gluten, no gluten-free bread substitutes either
  • limit other grains (1 serving per day, if any) – organic brown rice, organic corn, certified gf oats, quinoa
  • no sugar – that means no honey, maple syrup, or sugar in any form; and, of course, no sugar substitutes
  • limit dairy – no milk with my coffee; a bit of cheese here or there, but very small amounts; full-fat 24-hour fermented yogurt is ok; ghee is ok to cook with
  • caffeine is ok! I’ll do 2 shots of espresso in the morning, and possibly some green, white, or red tea before the afternoon
  • no beans – that means no hummus or chickpea bread – I think beans have been making me feel bad for a while
  • 6-8 servings of vegetables a day
  • 1-2 servings of fruit a day (berries, pears, apples, plums, other stone fruit; no dried fruit)
  • 3 meals a day, no snacks
  • 12 hours between dinner and breakfast
  • start supplements I’m deficient in:
    • vitamin b12
    • coq10
    • magnesium
  • start or maintain other healthy supplements:
    • probiotics
    • vitamin d3
    • chromium
    • fish oil

 

Good news is I have a house full of very healthy food, so it will be easy to start today. My dinners will be the same as planned, but I will have a protein and veggie rich breakfast and lunch.  No more shakes for me!

2 comments on “Detox Fail: Day 1 and Done!

  1. Kat
    June 3, 2014

    Amen sista, why do they always mess up these mixes with that vile stevia? I have tried several that made me nauseous. 😦

    • oneyeartotrainer
      June 3, 2014

      I just don’t know why things have to be so sweet. Add a banana or some blueberries. That’s sweet enough for me. Or let people add their own vile sweetener. So gross!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

