Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Planning for a 14-day Detox-Cleanse

1-IMG_7123

So, I’ve never really done a detox or cleanse before, and have been skeptical of these types of crash “diets.” But, I’ve been seeing a nutritionist, and have decided to take on a 2-week detox/cleanse starting on Monday. Why not tomorrow? Well, I need to meal plan, and, more importantly, wean off of caffeine. I can’t deal with a detox with terrible headaches.

I went to this nutritionist (who works in an ob/gyn office in my area) to do some micronutrient and cardiovascular health marker testing a couple of months ago. I finally got the results back yesterday, and I’m deficient in Vitamin B12, Magnesium, and CoQ10. There are some others that are borderline. It also showed that my liver functioning was not so great, so it’s detox time. The plan is to do a detox/cleanse for two weeks, then to start supplementing with the nutrients that I’m deficient in.

I’ll be doing the 14-day Designs for Health Detox/Cleanse (found here).  In short, I’ll be cutting out sugar, dairy, gluten and most other grains, soy, and caffeine. I’ll have a protein/vitamin shake for breakfast and lunch (with added stuff) and supplements, snack between meals, then a healthy dinner.  This is not a calorie-restrictive detox (thank the gods!), and you are encouraged to eat when hungry. I’ll be aiming for about 1500 calories/day. I’ll still be exercising the same amount as well.

I’ve looked all over the interwebs for people’s experiences with this particular detox/cleanse, and found some great blog posts, but no meal plans. All the reviews are glowing, by the way, so I’m hopeful!  But, I’m posting my meal plan so you will know exactly what I’ll be eating. I’ll give updates that include the actual nutrient breakdowns once I plug each day into MyFitness Pal. I’ll also be posting recipes for dinner, photos, and how I feel on the cleanse. Wish me luck!

 

Here’s the meal plan: (see printable pdf link at bottom)

14-Day Designs For Health Detox-Cleanse
Day Breakfast Snack Lunch Snack Dinner
Mon, 6/2 Shake roast beef slices, carrot sticks, pumpkin seeds Shake rice/seed crackers with hummus, pear rotisserie chicken, baked sweet potato, sauteed spinach Shake varieties: Add greens, avo, berries, cucumber, celery, coconut oil, coconut milk/rice milk
Tue, 6/3 Shake raw peppers with hummus, pear Shake roast beef slices, small apple rotisserie chicken, baked sweet potato, sauteed spinach No: Dairy, Caffeine, Gluten, Sugar, Soy
Wed, 6/4 Shake hard boiled egg, rice/seed crackers, olives Shake unsweetened sunbutter, apple Beef and Vegetable Soup, with potatoes Yes: Olive oil, coconut oil, ghee, coconut flour, almond flour, brown rice, fresh herbs
Thur, 6/5 Shake hard boiled egg, rice/seed crackers, olives Shake turkey slices, pumpkin seeds, pickles Beef and Vegetable Soup, with potatoes
Fri, 6/6 Shake turkey slices, pumpkin seeds, pickles Shake plum, toasted sunflower seeds (homemade) Taco Salad (greens, turkey taco meat, veggies, salsa, lime juice)
Sat, 6/7 Shake plum, toasted sunflower seeds (homemade) Shake rice/seed crackers with hardboiled egg, blackberries Taco Salad (greens, turkey taco meat, veggies, salsa, lime juice)
Sun, 6/8 Shake rice/seed crackers with hardboiled egg, blackberries Shake raw peppers with hummus, pear Roasted spaghetti squash with homemade meatballs and marinara
Mon, 6/9 Shake blackberries, pumpkin seeds, carrot sticks Shake 1/2 baked sweet potato and 1 hard-boiled egg Roasted spaghetti squash with homemade meatballs and marinara
Tue, 6/10 Shake 1/2 baked sweet potato and 1 hard-boiled egg Shake roast beef slices, small apple Chicken cutlets sauteed, stone ground mustard, sauerkraut, baked rosemary red potatoes
Wed, 6/11 Shake roast beef slices, carrot sticks, pumpkin seeds Shake turkey slices, pumpkin seeds, pickles Chicken cutlets sauteed, stone ground mustard, sauerkraut, baked rosemary red potatoes
Thur, 6/12 Shake rice/seed crackers with hardboiled egg, blackberries Shake red peppers with hummus, plum Sweet potato hash with eggs, bacon, peppers, herbs; side salad
Fri, 6/13 Shake red peppers with hummus, plum Shake pear, turkey slices, pickles Sweet potato hash with eggs, bacon, peppers, herbs; side salad
Sat, 6/14 Shake apple with sunbutter Shake carrot sticks, turkey slices, olives Turkey/veggie stir-fry with brown rice and avocado
Sun, 6/15 Shake rice/seed crackers with hardboiled egg, blackberries Shake red peppers with hummus, plum Turkey/veggie stir-fry with brown rice and avocado

 

Here’s the pdf version: 14daycleansemealplan

3 comments on “Planning for a 14-day Detox-Cleanse

  1. Kat
    May 28, 2014

    So many people are b-12 deficient now… It used to be considered to be a vegetarian problem but interestingly, lots of meat eaters are deficient as well.

    • oneyeartotrainer
      May 28, 2014

      I was certainly surprised. It turns out that my liver is not functioning properly, so I may not be absorbing the B12 from the food I eat. I’m hoping this cleanse and then some high quality supplements will help.

      • Kat
        May 28, 2014

        Keep us posted! I may unofficially join you…need to do a cleanse myself.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

