Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Awesome Pre-Workout Breakfast for ~450 Calories!

I still do veggie/fruit smoothies, but lately I’ve been cooking my greens for lunch instead of eating them raw, then doing a protein fruit smoothie on the side. So, now I’m back to breakfast foods, and here’s what I had this morning. A nice variety of textures, flavors, and nutrients. And, all for 454 calories!

1-IMG_6827

 

This is 1 slice of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin bread, toasted and topped with 1/2 Tablespoon of sunflower seed butter and 1/2 a banana mashed with cinnamon. On the side, a 1/2 cup of my favorite yogurt in the whole world – White Mountain Bulgarian Organic Plain Whole Milk Yogurt with a 1/2 cup of blackberries and a teaspoon of raw honey. For a little added protein, 1 boiled egg. Mine was perfectly cooked (I like the yolk glistening with the white fully cooked.). I followed these sort of complicated instructions – but they work! I’m drinking a latte – 1/2 cup of whole organic milk and 2 shots of espresso.

Here’s the nutrition breakdown – screenprinted from My Fitness Pal:

1-Fullscreen capture 472014 65026 AM

 

Calorie Breakdown:

  • 51% Carbohydrates
  • 17% Protein
  • 32% Fat

 

Other Nutritional Info:

  • Cholesterol: 214 mg
  • Potassium: 1924 mg
  • Dietary Fiber: 8g
  • Vitamin A: 14%
  • Vitamin C: 37%
  • Calcium: 32%
  • Iron: 13%

 

This may seem a bit carb/fat heavy, and it is. I try to eat a few more carbs pre-workout, and a more protein-rich meal or snack after a workout. Also, I try and make each meal between 450 – 500 cal. I only have a snack if I did a really heavy workout, and then I eat the snack right afterwards. Snacking is usually my gateway to overeating, so I try to avoid snacking unless I really feel my blood sugar dropping. This goes against most nutritionist’s advice of eating 5-6 small meals per day. I just can’t eat that way. Three substantial meals of 450-500 calories works way better for me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2014 by and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

