Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

This Week’s Meals: Grain-Free Banana Pancakes, 3-Bean Chili, Black Bean Brownies, and Turkey Meatloaf Muffins

1-IMG_6624

I tried some great recipes this week – a breakfast, two new dinners, and a dessert. This is not exactly a weekly meal plan, but rather some new ideas for meals.

I’ve been doing green smoothies every day for breakfast for the last few weeks. Needless to say, I’ve been craving some much-missed breakfast foods. I remember reading about a grain-free pancake a long time ago, so I decided to finally try it. So good! Great flavor that definitely satisfied my pancake craving. Looks like the green smoothie will be lunch some days.

Recipe: Grain-Free Banana Pancakes (serves 1) – see pic above

  • 1 mashed banana (next time, I’ll do 1.5)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • next time, I’ll add 1/8 tsp. of baking powder to fluff them up a bit
  • also, next time, add blueberries!

Mix all ingredients together (except for blueberries – put those on after the batter sets on the first side.)

Spoon onto medium-heat griddle or nonstick pan that has just a touch of oil on it. My pancakes were about 5-6″ in diameter, and the batter made 6 pancakes. I spooned on a tablespoon of maple syrup, and they were great!

3-Bean and Grassfed Beef Chili + Baked Potato and Cheese

2-IMG_6632

We got a bit of a cold front in this week, so I decided to make some chili to put on top of baked potatoes. Perfect comfort food. This version is pretty healthy!

For the chili, I mostly followed this recipe by Elie Krieger, who is known for her healthy recipes.  I couldn’t find the ancho chiles in adobo sauce at whole foods, so I just used 1 T. of chili powder.  As for the beef, I got 1 pound of 95/5 grassfed beef and 1 pound of 90/10 – so all pretty lean.  I sauteed everything on the stove first, then put it all in the crockpot to simmer for a few hours. I think it would be fine to leave on the stove, but we had an afternoon playdate, and needed to leave. The chili lasted for 2-3 evenings, and I even had enough to put in the freezer for another week.

Recipe: Turkey Veggie Meatloaf “Muffins”

1-food3

I served these delicious and healthy meatloaf “muffins” with steamed broccoli and baked sweet potatoes. So good! Next time, I’ll make sure to double the recipe so I can have more leftovers. They bake much faster in a muffin tin, but feel free to bake it the old fashioned way – in a pan or on a baking sheet.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground turkey – I used 95/5 – very lean, and it wasn’t at all dry
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 a vidalia onion, diced
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 T. Dijon mustard
  • 2 T. Worcestershire sauce, 1 in the meatloaf, 1 in the tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • oil or cooking spray to grease muffin tin

Directions:

  • Grease the muffin tin.
  • Preheat oven to 350 if convection, or 375 if conventional.
  • Combine all ingredients except 1 T of Worcestershire and the tomato sauce
  • Mix with your hands, if you can.
  • Form into balls – about the size of a tennis ball, and place into the muffin tin. Mine made 8.
  • Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until 160 degrees internally. I always use a meat thermometer.
  • Mix the tomato sauce and 1 T. of Worcestershire sauce and set it aside.
  • At about 15 minutes, take the muffins out, and spoon or baste the tomato sauce mixture on top of each one. I heated the additional sauce, and served it on the side.

These were so full of flavor!

Black Bean Brownies

1-foods-001

I admit, I was VERY skeptical about these brownies. Just the idea of mixing black beans into my brownies was gross, but I challenge you to try these. You will not be able to tell. They are so gooey and amazing! Very chocolatey.

I followed this recipe from a blog called chocolatecoveredkatie.com. So good! I did 2/3 of a cup of chocolate chips, and instead of sugar or stevia, I used organic maple sugar. Oh, and I didn’t have quick cook oats, so regular rolled oats worked just fine.

Here’s the nutritional info for 9 brownies. Not bad for a very decadent tasting dessert. This would be excellent with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream!

1-Fullscreen capture 2272014 124243 PM

One comment on “This Week’s Meals: Grain-Free Banana Pancakes, 3-Bean Chili, Black Bean Brownies, and Turkey Meatloaf Muffins

  1. Pingback: Weekly Dinners #8: Lime Chicken 2 Ways, Cauliflower Fried “Rice”, Turkey Taco Salad, Apple Bacon BBQ Chicken and Slaw and Chocolate Banana Sunbutter Protein Balls! | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

