Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

My Favorite Green Smoothie – What I Eat Every Single Morning

3-DSCN1771A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about trying green smoothies for the first time. Well, I’m a convert. I have played with the ingredients, and this is definitely my favorite, and pretty much what I eat every single morning (plus a whole milk latte). I added some avocado for fat (to access all the fat-soluble vitamins and to make it more of a substantial meal), and a protein powder that I’ve always liked – Biochem 100% Whey Protein Natural Flavor. I make sure to mix my greens up, or use a variety every day. So far, I love Organic Girl’s Supergreens blend. Before starting green smoothies, I regularly tossed boxes and bags of gone-bad lettuce and salad greens. No more! I use up all the vegetables and greens in my fridge. 

Recipe: My Favorite Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup of water
  • 3 large handfuls of greens (it fills up my Vitamix until I tamp it down)
  • 2 stalks of celery, broken in half
  • 1/4 of an avocado
  • a 4-inch chunk of cucumber (or 2 minis)
  • 1/2 a cup of frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 a cup of frozen cherries
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 scoop of Biochem Whey Protein powder (natural flavor)

2-DSCN1775

5 servings of vegetables! If I eat this in the morning, I don’t have to go out of my way to eat veggies and greens throughout the day. I can just have 1-2 more veggies at each meal, and feel like I’m really getting enough veggies in. 

Here’s a screenshot of the nutritional info from My Fitness Pal:

1-Fullscreen capture 2202014 72535 AMWhat you don’t see in this info is that it contains 15% of your daily iron, 27% of your daily calcium, 110% of vitamin C, 135% of Vitamin A, and 10 g of fiber.  

What do you like to put in your smoothies?

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2014 by and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

