Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Weekly Dinners #7: Greek Meatballs, Asian Chicken Thighs, and BBQ Chicken Breasts with Paleo Slaw

Greek Meatballs, Homemade Tzatziki Sauce, and Field Green Salad

Greek Meatballs, Homemade Tzatziki Sauce, and Field Green Salad

I haven’t made Greek meatballs in a long time, and today, I had a hankering for them. My whole dinner was a scant 500 calories, with a TON of flavor, protein, and nutrients! It certainly didn’t taste like diet food, or like I’m trying to watch what I’m eating. And, tonight’s dinner just happens to be gluten free. I’m not gluten free – I used to be – but, I know it bothers a lot of people. Another bonus, vampires will not come anywhere near you after this dinner. Serious garlic!

Here’s this week’s meal plan:

  • Sunday dinner: Greek Meatballs, Tzatziki Sauce, and Field Green Salad
  • Tuesday dinner: Asian Marinated Chicken Thighs, Brown Rice, and Sauteed Broccolini
  • Thursday dinner: BBQ Chicken Breasts and Paleo Slaw

1-My Photo Stream4

Recipe: Greek Meatballs – 8 servings of about 6 meatballs each

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs of grassfed ground beef (or 1 beef and 1 lamb) – I used 1 of 95/5 and 1 of 90/10
  • 1 8 oz. container of Feta cheese
  • 1 medium onion, minced
  • 1 handful of chopped kalamata olives
  • 1 handful of chopped fresh mint
  • 1.5 tsp of dried oregano
  • 2 tsp of sea salt
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, mined

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients together.
  • Form into balls. I made 50 (about 6 per serving). They were about 1.5″ in diameter.
  • Brown in a nonstick skillet with a small amount of olive oil.
  • Bake in an oven for 15 minutes (375 convection or 400 bake).

Recipe: Tzatziki Sauce – 8 servings of about 2 Tbsp each

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of plain Greek yogurt (I used Wallaby 0% this time.)
  • 2.5 cucumbers, peeled, seeded, and diced (Feel free to use 3. I used 2.5 because my daughter wanted 1/2 a cucumber while I was chopping.)
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced

Note about the sauce: On day 1, this sauce is awesome. But, as it sits in the fridge, the garlic gets stronger and stronger, and last night (day 3 of me having the meatballs and sauce), it was way too garlic-y. So, next time, I plan on boiling the garlic cloves whole, letting them cool, then crushing them and adding them to the yogurt. I’ve heard this will mellow them out. I’m sure roasting would do the same, but that would change the look of your sauce as well. I’ll update this post when I try it again with the boiled garlic. If I planned on eating it all in one meal, like a dinner party, I wouldn’t boil it. But, whew, it will blow you away on day 3. 🙂

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients together.
  • Store in fridge at least an hour before you eat so all the flavors can meld.

Asian Marinated Chicken Thighs with Brown Rice and Sauteed Broccolini

1-asianchicken

Not a lot of “recipe” to this meal. Marinate some boneless, skinless chicken thighs for a few hours in a 1/2 cup of orange juice mixed with 1/2 cup of olive oil, some grated fresh ginger (or dried), a few drops of sesame oil, a spoonful of honey, and a few shakes of soy sauce. Then brown on both sides and finish in the oven or cover and finish in the pan. I’m going to serve this with steamed brown rice and broccolini. Here’s the recipe I’m using for the broccolini, except I cut the time in half, and it was plenty done.

1-DSCN1769

I did not plan on making this chicken in the crockpot, but after doing some math involving playdate times, dinner time, and when I wanted to head to the gym, I had to cut a corner somewhere. So, while my daughter was napping, I browned the thighs in batches, and put it in the crockpot before we left for our playdate. (Keep in mind that I put it marinated for about 3 hours before I browned it.) I set it on low for 2.5 hours in the crockpot, but it will probably only be in there for 2. I put a 1/4 of chicken stock on the bottom, then the thighs, and then sliced some of those same tangerines I used in the marinade and placed those on top. It smells and looks good. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

BBQ Chicken Breasts and Paleo Slaw

Ok, this is the easiest chicken meal. I just find my favorite barbecue sauce and marinate the breasts in a ziploc in the fridge in 1/2 the sauce for at least 2 hours, but no more than 4. Then stick them in a baking dish, cover them with foil, and bake them for 30-35 minutes on 450. I might heat up a bit of the remaining sauce and spoon it on top. Here’s my favorite slaw – just happens to be Paleo. I always use apple cider vinegar, and I add a small spoonful of honey to mine. So good! Pics to come!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 16, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

