Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Weekly Dinners #6: Salsa Chicken, My Favorite Caesar, and Turkey Taco Salad

1-DSCN1751

I usually meal plan every Sunday, head to the grocery store, and start prepping meals for the week. I try to only cook three times per week and cook enough on those nights to have leftovers for the next night. Here’s the plan for this week:

  • Sunday Dinner: Salsa Chicken, Steamed Broccoli, and Refried Black Beans
  • Tuesday Dinner: My Favorite Super Easy Caesar Salad and a Baked Sweet Potato
  • Thursday Dinner: Turkey Taco Salad with all the fixin’s
Top: Chicken with Rotel, Bottom Left: Chicken coated in Taco Seasoning, Bottom Right: Brands I used

Top: Chicken with Rotel, Bottom Left: Chicken coated in Taco Seasoning, Bottom Right: Brands I used

Salsa Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 1/2 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese (I like cheddar/jack mix)
  • 1 can of Rotel tomatoes (or 2 cups of your favorite salsa)
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 4 dollops of sour cream (I use Organic Valley lowfat)
Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Coat the chicken breasts (all sides) with half of the package of taco seasoning. You can do this in a baking dish or in a Ziploc bag. I seasoned them a couple of hours before I baked them and put them back in the fridge, but it’s probably fine to do it right before too.
  • Pour the juice of the Rotel tomatoes in the bottom of a baking dish. Place the chicken breasts down, then cover each one with the tomatoes and jalapenos from the can of Rotel.
  • Cover with foil and put in the oven for 30-35 minutes.
  • Take out, check temp (should be at least 140-145), then put cheese on top (about 1/4 cup per chicken breast).
  • Put the dish back in the oven.
  • I make sure the chicken is at least 155-160 because I let it finish cooking under foil after I take it out of the oven.
  • Let sit for 10 minutes covered in foil on the counter.
  • Serve with diced avocados and a dollop of sour cream.

I am serving my Salsa Chicken with just salted steamed broccoli florets and my favorite brand of refried black beans (Pacific).

Makes 4 servings. The My Fitness Pal calculation also says 4 servings, but those chicken breasts were pretty huge, and I ended up just eating a half of one for my serving.

1-DSCN1762

My Favorite Super Easy Caesar Salad – single serving

Ingredients:

  • Romaine lettuce – 2 cups torn
  • 1/4 cup of parmesan
  • 1 large Doctor Kracker Organic Pumpkin Seed Cheddar Crispbread (broken into crouton-sized pieces)
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1-2 Tbsp of olive oil (depending on your taste and dietary concerns)
  • salt and pepper to taste
Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Directions:

  • Toss everything together in a bowl. It is so fresh tasting and easy. It needs no other seasoning, in my opinion. And the 1/4 cup of parmesan does provide quite a bit of protein. Although, some might choose to add an additional protein, like chicken, shrimp, or salmon.

I’m serving my salad alongside a 1/2 baked sweet potato with a pat of butter and salt and pepper. I might even go crazy and put a dollop of lowfat sour cream on top, or a bit of bacon wouldn’t hurt anything, either.

20131116-013744.jpg

Turkey Taco Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground turkey
  • mixed greens of your choice – 2 cups per person
  • chopped tomatoes
  • shredded Monterrey/jack cheese
  • sour cream
  • salsa
  • corn
  • shredded carrots
  • diced or mashed avocado
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 can of tomato sauce (if your taco seasoning calls for it)
Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Screen Capture from My Fitness Pal

Directions:

  • Prepare your turkey according to the directions on your taco seasoning.
  • Assemble your salad (see pic), put taco meat on top, then all other toppings (like cheese, sour cream, and salsa). A bit of fresh lime juice would be nice too. I usually put enough salsa on that I don’t need an actual salad dressing.
  • I’ve also been known to crush up some blue corn organic tortilla chips and put those in there too.
  • Enjoy!

4 servings

Oh yeah, and for anyone who reads down this far, I’ve updated my stats page with 3 month pics and measurements. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 9, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

