Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Healthy and Quick Dinners for Week 5

1-Fullscreen capture 212014 63542 PMMy goal every week when meal planning is to pick meals that are healthy, delicious, fairly easy to prep, and cost efficient. I also root around in my pantry to look for jumping off points. Tonight’s meal starts with a box of black beans and rice that’s been in my pantry a few weeks. I’m taking cues from their recipe on the back, which says to make it a meal, add ham or sausage and red bell pepper. That sounds easy.  I’ve been craving Greek salad, so there’s my inspiration for Tuesday night’s dinner, and planning it ahead, I can make sure that my chicken breasts are really tasty by marinating them overnight. Finally, I get to use my slow cooker for Thursday night’s meal, and I’ve never cooked a pork shoulder roast. Here’s a recipe from the Pioneer Woman that looks rather healthy! Pics will be added as the week progresses.

Recipes

1-black beans rice stuff
Black Beans and Rice with Ham and Orange Peppers

The plan was to use chicken sausage and a red pepper, but the ham steak was on sale, and I couldn’t find the sausage I wanted. Also, I had a slight cooking mishap with my red pepper, and had to use an orange one – still tasted great! And, I think this dish probably is better with ham anyway.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Lundberg Farms Organic Whole Grain Rice and Seasoning Mix Black Beans and Rice
  • 1 Tablespoon plus 1 tsp. of olive oil
  • 5 oz diced ham steak
  • 1 red or orange bell pepper, diced (I used orange pepper)
  • 1/4 of a Vidalia onion, diced

Directions:

  • Prepare black beans and rice according to box. (Takes about 30 minutes.)
  • Meanwhile, saute the onion and red pepper in olive oil until starting to caramelize.
  • Add the diced ham. Saute until heated thoroughly. Turn down to low or just cover and turn off.
  • When beans and rice are done, fluff with a fork, then combine everything.
Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • lemon zest from 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Assemble asparagus on a cookie sheet.
  • Drizzle the olive oil. Coat all pieces well.
  • Sprinkle on the salt and pepper.
  • Bake at 400 degress for 20-25 minutes.
  • Toss with lemon zest.
The best Greek dressing ever! And the chicken was very juicy and tasty as well.

The best Greek dressing ever! And the chicken was very juicy and tasty as well.

Greek Salad with Marinated and Baked Chicken Breast

Marinade (I’m baking the chicken, not grilling it. I’m following this method to bake it, but not the seasoning info.)

Salad Dressing

Salad:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, and chopped
  • handful of pitted Kalamata olives
  • couple handfuls of crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/4 – 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
Finally, here’s the recipe I’m going to use for Thursday night’s Pork Roast with Apples and Onions.

She pairs it with wild rice, but I think I’ll just do brown rice.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2014 by and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

