Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

A Green Smoothie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

1-smoothie

Why am I so late to jump on the green smoothie bandwagon? Because I don’t own a Vitamix? No problem. My run-of-the-mill Cuisinart is doing a great job.

This week, I decided to have a green smoothie every morning as part of my breakfast. Wow! Can’t believe I waited so long to tap into this trend. They are delicious! And, I’m basically eating 2 cups of greens and another serving or two of veg every morning. That goes a long way in helping me meet my goal of eating at least 7 servings of vegetables a day.

Monday – Beginner “Green” Smoothie: I say “green” because it’s more of a purple-brown color with the blueberries in there. This is an easy starter smoothie for those new to green smoothies. (Note: I put in the water, then spinach and celery, and blend all that first. Then I add the rest of the ingredients until smooth.)

  • 2 large handfuls of spinach (or any other greens)
  • 1-2 stalks of celery cut up a bit
  • 1 cup of frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • a squeeze or two of fresh lemon juice

Tuesday – Greens and Cranberry Smoothie: (This one was not as sweet and a bit more tart than Monday’s. And, I had no idea that you could eat raw cranberries, but you can!)

  • 2 large handfuls of spinach (or any other greens)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup frozen cranberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 orange (I used a cutie, so it’s pretty small.)

Wednesday – Greens and Apple Smoothie: (Pretty good! And, this one has that beautiful green color.)

  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 1-2 ribs of celery
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1 banana
  • 1 green apple
  • couple of ice cubes (unless your banana is frozen)

Thursday & Friday: I’m going back to the Beginner Green Smoothie because it’s so delicious and my favorite!

I have to admit that so far, I notice that my energy is up, and my cravings for processed sugary and salty foods are down! To vary up the smoothies a bit in the future, I’m going to switch out the greens each week. This week, so far, I’ve only used spinach because I bought a huge container of spinach, and wanted to use it up. I do love that spinach sort of has no flavor, and blends very well with fruit.

One comment on “A Green Smoothie a Day Keeps the Doctor Away

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Green Smoothie – What I Eat Every Single Morning | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2014 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

