Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Weekly Dinners # 3 + a Great Back End Workout!

weeklydinners3

I finally feel like I am recovering from the craziness of the holidays. My workouts are back on track as well as my eating and meal planning. Here is my dinner menu for this week. (Sorry I missed a week – hubby went out of town for the whole week, so I basically scrounged and had easy low-prep dinners last week.) I will update this post with pics and tips throughout the week.

bratkrauttomato

I like to start the week off with something pretty easy and low-prep (bratwurst, sauerkraut, and roasted Parmesan basil tomatoes).  The only thing you really have to cook for this meal is the tomatoes, and they are super easy and so delicious. Just pour a container of cherry tomatoes into a baking dish, drizzle a bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar on top, sprinkle with some kosher salt and a few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese, then bake on 400 for 10-15 minutes. After they come out, top with the chopped fresh basil. So good! 

This is not low-prep, but the ingredients are pretty cost-effective, and quite healthy.

Ingredients for the Lentil Soup.
This is not low-prep, but the ingredients are pretty cost-effective, and quite healthy.

2-DSCN1654

This smells divine! Very smoky and herby. Can’t wait to try it!

The final product! It was so good. Went great with some homemade cornbread.

The final product! It was so good. Went great with some homemade cornbread.

 

I’m really looking forward to the Lentil Soup with Smoky Ham and Greens. It’s mostly this recipe, but I wanted to make it a bit healthier, so I’m going to add 3 cups of chopped greens (we’ll see what I find at Whole Foods today, but probably collard or Swiss chard). 

Thursday’s dinner is a half-cook night as well. As I’m nearing my NASM CPT test date, I’m studying more and more, which leaves less time for elaborate dinners. Rotisserie chicken is such an easy way to make a mostly-homemade meal. I’ll probably prep the acorn squash like this (except no brown sugar, just maple syrup). One of my nutrition goals for this week was to vary up my veggies a bit, as I often seem to get into a rut where I’m eating the same thing day in and day out.

The Back End Workout

I’ve been doing this workout once a week for a few weeks, and I’m sore every time! I’m trying to target everything in the back – butt, calves, hamstrings, muffin top area, etc…  Make sure to foam roll and stretch at the end. And, adjust the weights to your ability, of course. (I included links with explanations if you don’t know what these are.)

  • Warm-Up: Elliptical for 5-10 minutes (or other cardio machine of choice)
  • Calf raises on machine (3 sets of 12 reps, 45 lbs)
  • Abductor machine (3 sets of 12 reps, 145 lbs)
  • Adductor machine (3 sets of 12 reps, 145 lbs)
  • Leg press (3 sets of 10 reps, 70 lbs)
  • Dead lift (3 sets of 10 reps, 30 lbs)
  • Ball hip extensions (3 sets of 10 reps)
  • Back extensions with 6.6 lb medicine ball (3 sets of 10 reps)
  • Hamstring machine (3 sets of 10 reps, 65 lbs)
  • Glute kickback machine (3 sets of 10 reps on each leg, 65 lbs)
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

