Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

New Year’s Weekly Dinners – A Good Start to the Year

NYWeeklyMealPlan

I don’t know if you all indulged as much as I did over the past few weeks, but I have got to get back on track. Being sick for three weeks didn’t help matters either. I’m not waiting until January 1st to turn over a new leaf. I did some meal planning yesterday, headed to the store, and prepped lots of stuff for the week. My husband takes care of his own breakfasts and lunches, so I’ve only planned for my daughter’s and my meals at those times.  Due to my daughter’s multiple food allergies, we don’t always eat the same thing. I try not to plan every day out because we invariably have lots of food leftover in the fridge that I can eat for a meal or two. I’ve also convinced my husband that we need at least one meal a week that doesn’t include meat (Monday night’s chili, for example) since meat is the most expensive part of our grocery trip, and it’s probably good for us to skip it for at least a few dinners a week.

breakfastIt may seem boring to eat the same breakfast every morning, but I really love this breakfast. I saute a cup or more of spinach and four chopped cherry tomatoes in a bit of butter. Beat an egg, pour it over, and add a small sprinkle of organic shredded cheddar. I salt and pepper to taste and shake on a few drops of hot sauce. On the side, I add sliced avocado and 1 slice of Ezekiel bread toasted. Also, a cup of blackberries and blueberries. I feel like this is such a complete breakfast for me, and it keeps me full for quite a while.

Here’s the recipe for Sunday night’s dinner. I don’t use the crockpot for this anymore. I find it cooks very quickly in the oven (even with frozen chicken breasts!), and it tends to get a bit dry in the crockpot. I just bake it on 375 for about 30-40 minutes, until it reaches 160 internally. Couldn’t find Stubb’s sauce at the store, so I found a great substitute, and it’s organic as well – Bella’s BBQ Sauce.  I just steamed the broccoli and topped it with a bit of olive oil and salt. And, I baked the sweet potatoes on 400 for about an hour until soft.

For Mama’s Chili, it is so easy. Just mix together the ingredients in a pot, bring to a light boil, and serve with shredded cheese on top. I made a nice spinach salad on the side with thinly slice granny smith apples, parmesan, and a light drizzle of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Greek Pita Wrap’s: recipe here (I cheated and bought pre-made tzatziki, but I’ve made it fresh before as well, and it’s wonderful!)

Taco Salad: recipe here

I hope all of you have had a great holiday, and are sticking to your health and fitness goals (at least better than I’ve done!). 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

