Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Quick and Healthy Dinner: Braised Chicken Thighs and Spinach Tomato Couscous

couscous

I was so tired last night, and did not really feel like cooking dinner, but also knew I couldn’t eat out healthily. So, I threw this together, and it was scrumptious.

The chicken was not really the star of the show, but I’ll share how I prepared it anyway. I got some organic boneless skinless thighs from my freezer, and thawed them in the fridge. I seasoned them with salt, pepper, Bragg’s herb mix, garlic powder, and onion powder, and browned them in some olive oil on each side. I usually only brown two at a time so they don’t steam. Then I return them all to the pan, pour in about a cup of chicken stock, and put the lid on. Once they are 165 degrees in the center, they’re done. I honestly never use chicken breast anymore because it’s so hard to keep it moist. Thighs are always moist and so hard to mess up. They are my go to protein, and Costco has organic thighs in bulk, which I just keep in the freezer.

The Spinach Tomato Couscous was delicious! I got a box of herbed chicken couscous, and prepared it according to the box directions – 8 minutes total. In a large bowl I placed a cup or more of raw baby spinach, chopped tomatoes, and kalamata olives. Once the couscous was done, I poured it on top of the veggies and let the spinach wilt a bit. Stirred it up, tossed in about a 1/4 cup of Pecorino Romano cheese, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and 2 teaspoons of a very nice balsamic vinegar. Toss one more time, and it’s ready! I can’t believe I’ve never made this before. So easy, nutritious, filling, and flavorful. I’ll be varying this up once a week now!

One comment on “Quick and Healthy Dinner: Braised Chicken Thighs and Spinach Tomato Couscous

  1. Pingback: New Year Weekly Dinner Plan – Week 2 | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2013 by and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

