Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

End of Week 1: Getting Specific with Fitness and Health Goals

quote-first-you-write-down-your-goal-your-second-job-is-to-break-down-your-goal-into-a-series-of-steps-fitzhugh-dodson-341513

As I’m reading Chapter 19 in my NASM CPT 4 textbook, Lifestyle Modification and Behavioral Coaching, I am realizing that I really need to get specific about my own health, fitness, and career goals. “Be fit and eat healthily” is not going to cut it.

This textbook, as well as several websites and other fitness authorities promote using the SMART method to set goals.

7-Ways-For-Moms-to-Set-Keep-Realistic-Fitness-Goals-Photo2

I found some great articles and printable worksheets online to help me write down goals that are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic (some say ‘relevant’), and timely. I will use this blog to document my progress, as well as specific body measurements (pounds, inches, mood), a food log (like My Fitness Pal), and a workout log (I got one from LA Fitness when I signed up for their personal training program.).  Take a look at my Resources page to find links to the articles I read and the printable worksheets I found helpful.

I also like the idea of setting up small rewards for each small goal reached. So far, here are the small rewards that I can think of: a new pair of Athleta or Lululemon workout pants, a pedicure, a massage, or a new small piece of workout equipment (a band, dvd, book, cd, dumbbell). Any other ideas? Please leave them in the comments!

I filled out the SMART Goal-setting worksheet and the Girl’s Gone Sporty Fitness Goal-Setting worksheet. (links here)

goals1

goals2

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

