Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Day 5 – best breakfast muffins, interval cardio, and more studying


mamas-muffins

The best muffins ever! I call these Mama’s Muffins – a base of oat bran and oats, with shredded carrots, shredded granny smith apples, honey, applesauce, vanilla, cinnamon, and raisins. Such a great start to my day. Gluten free, egg free, dairy free, nut free, but totally delicious! Here’s the recipe: Mamas-Muffins

Food log

Breakfast: 1 oat bran muffin (recipe:), pat of butter, 2 pieces of apple gate farms pork sausage, low-fat latte

Snack: banana and green tea

Lunch: Bowl of tomato bisque (pacific brand) and 1 piece of whole wheat sourdough

Snack: 2 slices of swiss cheese and pepitas

Dinner: big green salad with sliced cold cuts (turkey and salami) + my homemade dijon vinaigrette

Workout:

My workout today consisted of my second session of 20-minute interval aerobic training on my elliptical. See my first post about this to get the workout. Here’s my setup:

cardioSorry for the blurry pic, but I was still doing the workout. The second I stop the screen goes blank. I woke up a bit late this morning (6:10 is late for me),  and my toddler was already awake talking to herself in her crib. So, I scrambled to set up the workout room – put a sheet down, ran downstairs to get our mostly-unused high chair and made her breakfast. Took it all upstairs, and set her up to watch me work out while she ate breakfast. If left to roam around, she will just stick her hands right in the elliptical, so that’s a no-go. Well, it totally worked out. She got breakfast, we watched animal planet, and mom got her workout! I really wanted to get my aerobic training in before I ate breakfast, and this was the only way.

Studying:

I got my NASM CPT 4 Textbook in the mail yesterday! It came inside a NASM black and blue backpack. Nice touch. I started reading and highlighting last night before bed, and barely got through Chapter 1. It was good that I did a preview of the chapter with the online material. There’s another online component put out by the textbook publisher. It provides crossword puzzles, an interactive glossary, practice quizzes, and lab activities for each chapter. I will probably use them to review each chapter after I’ve done the reading.

One comment on “Day 5 – best breakfast muffins, interval cardio, and more studying

  1. Pingback: Working Out to Exhaustion: My Med of Choice | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 14, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

