Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

Day 3 – 1st day of 20-min aerobic interval training

So, woke up a little bit before 5, grabbed a shot of espresso and a can of La Croix, and headed to my elliptical. According to the guide I’m following (see link below), I need to do my aerobic training before I eat in the morning. This aerobic session flew by since I was so preoccupied with maintaining a certain speed for each minute. I didn’t have any time to be bored, so I totally recommend this method for knocking out any type of aerobic exercise. I have an elliptical at home, so that’s probably what I’m going to be doing.

In order to make a distinction between each interval (I put phase on my notes), I had to determine a speed on my elliptical to maintain for each interval of the session.

I typed this out on my notes (all while trying to work out, so I was a bit distracted during my workout). I’ll just print this out and tape it to my elliptical in the future. I stayed on Level 1 this morning, but I think I will probably up the level each week to avoid plateaus. Also, I can up the speed in increments of 5 to intensify this workout.  So, I did 1 minute of warmup at the speed of 45. Then between minute 1 and 2, I was at speed 50. When I hit minute 2, I sped up to 55, and so forth. This went by so fast! And, I was sweating in phases 4 and 5.

Interval elliptical speed

Warmup 45 –  minute 1

Phase 1 50 – 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, 16-17
Phase 2 55 – 2-3, 7-8, 12-13, 17-18
Phase 3 60 –  3-4, 8-9, 13-14, 18-19
Phase 4 65 – 4-5, 9-10, 14-15, 19-20
Phase 5 70 – 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, 20-21

Cool down back to 45 for 21-22

I’m following the aerobic interval training plan from http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/guide6.htm

Today’s eating plan:

Breakfast: low-fat latte, 1 slice of Ezekiel bread toast, pat of butter, 1 fried egg, 1 banana

Snack: 1 cup of Bulgarian yogurt + blueberries and blackberries

Lunch: leftover roast, carrots, green beans, and a small portion of mashed potatoes (these leftovers might just get me through the week!)

Snack: 1 mini granny smith apple + pepitas

Dinner: Pacific brand organic Hearty Tomato Bisque, and some homemade “lunchables” – Mary’s Gone Crackers + salami and swiss (see photo)

dinner

One comment on “Day 3 – 1st day of 20-min aerobic interval training

  1. Pingback: Day 5 – best breakfast muffins, interval cardio, and more studying | One Year To Trainer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2013 by and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

