Healthy Food Odyssey

Cooking, Eating, and Enjoying Healthy Food!

The Idea

I’m 37, a stay-at-home mom, and not happy with my food or fitness level. I had the crazy idea this past week to become a personal trainer. I’ve got the time and the funds, and I think it would force me to change my lifestyle. I currently go to the gym and see a trainer once a week for 25 minutes, but I’m NOT in good shape. I’m certainly not in ‘personal trainer’ shape. But, I’m going to give myself one year to get there. One year to change how I eat and work out. I will also get my NASM CPT certification in that year. Oh yeah, and get some clients! This blog will serve as the chronicle of my journey. I will *gulp* start by taking some before pics and measurements. I will update my stats once a month to see how I’m making progress. I will log my food with pics, meal plans, and recipes. God only knows if anyone will actually be interested in reading about this journey, but I need a goal. And, I need to be accountable. Tomorrow starts day 1. So, where do I start? Well, I googled ‘get in shape’ this morning, and found a great starter plan on www.bodybuilding.com. I’m going to start there. Here’s the gist:

Workout Schedule

  • Strength training:
    • Monday – chest, shoulders, and triceps
    • Wednesday – back, biceps, and lats
    • Friday – lower body
  • Aerobic training Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday
  • Sunday is a rest day

Eating Plan

  • Balance of protein, carbs, and fat
  • Very few processed foods
  • No liquid calories (besides milk)
  • 3 meals a day and 2 snacks
  • Lots of veggies and some fruits
  • Limit sweets and junk food

That’s a heck of a lot more than what I’m doing right now. On a good week, I do three days of weights – 30 minutes each. That includes my session with my trainer. Not a lot of effort, I admit. That’s why I want to get serious about changing my lifestyle for good. And, my food. Well, in my mind, it’s great. Realistically, though, I am eating for more calories than I’m burning, and my choices have not been stellar.  I’ll get into more food confessions later.

 

1-IMG_5356The first change I’m making is buying some healthy foods to stock up the fridge: all sorts of fruits and veggies, plus eggs, yogurt, and sprouted bread.

2 comments on “The Idea

  1. kerrielouisebrown90
    November 9, 2013

    Good luck with your plans! 🙂

    • oneyeartotrainer
      November 9, 2013

      Thanks, Kerrie! I will need all the luck, good mojo, and happy thoughts I can get!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

